Killarney Cottage Scones

ImageThis week was St. Patrick‘s day. I usually miss it as no one except for the Irish pubs celebrate it. But thanks to American TV series, I remembered it this year and celebrated it in my own way. Several years ago, my mother and I travelled through Ireland. I do not remember too much about it, but I fondly remember three things: the lusciously green grass (it really is that green), my first Guinness (it somehow tastes better over there), and the little rose-framed cottage at the entrance of a park, where we used to have tea and scones. Scones have a very particular taste. They are not sweet, taste of soda and are relatively dry. But eaten with clotted cream, jam and tea, they are just wonderful. Several years later, I visited my friend T. in Glasgow and we had tea at a wonderful tearoom. The scones where just like they were in Ireland, the same taste, the same texture and I felt as if I was sitting in front of the cottage again. Back in Germany you can’t get that kind of pastry anywhere. A bakery recently took scones on their menu, but they really are just dense yeast rolls… :( My disappointment about the yeasty things inspired me to make scones this week, which took me right back to Ireland.

As you can’t buy clotted cream around here, and it is really difficult to make, I use crème double. For the jam I buy the really good stuff…don’t be cheap here.

For 9-10 scones you’ll need:

450g flour

5 1/2 tsp. baking powder

120g butter

2 eggs

5 tbsp. Milk

Salt

+ raisins, dried cherries, cranberries or chocolate drops if you like

 

Preheat the oven to 200°C

Mix everything together (don’t mix too long)

Roll the dough 2cm thick and cut out circles (7cm in diameter)

Bake for 12-15 mins.

 

Let them cool and serve with clotted cream (or crème fraiche) and jam…don’t forget the tea! :)

2 thoughts on “Killarney Cottage Scones

    • oh lala! bonjour paris! …et boum! c’est le choc! ;)
      I miss Glasgow, but still indulge in scones. There are nice ones here, too. You need to come and see if you like them as much as the ones back in Scotland^^. Even though they rarely look as nice as yours…
      T.

Leave a Reply

