First Kiss

ImageIt’s a rough time, guys….my favorite time of the year gets spoiled with work. I guess that is the price of being an adult. It really makes me sad that I struggle to keep my promise to post (and bake) on a weekly basis and I fear it will become worse as my graduation comes closer.

However, since I have handed in my latest paper just today, I am celebrating the temporal freedom with a pink cocktail creation: raspberry and rhubarb Mojito. Yummy! I named it First Kiss, because it is innocently sweet, excitingly sparkly, stimulatingly sour and a tiny bit bitter.

Here’s the recipe (try it! preferably on a sunny day)

  • 5cl rum (white)
  • 8cl soda
  • 1/2 lime
  • some mint leaves
  • 2 cl rhubarb-raspberry syrup
  • Frozen rasperries and ice cubes

For the rhubarb (raspberry) syrup:
500g sliced rhubarb
330g sugar
180ml water
½ lime (juice)
Handful of raspberries

Wash the rhubarb and slice it into fine pieces. Put it into a large pot and sprinkle the sugar on top. Let the rhubarb and the sugar sit for 3 hours. Add the raspberries, the water and the lime juice and cook everything on medium heat for about 20 minutes. Once the rhubarb is mushy, sift it through a fine sieve and really squeeze the mush to release its liquid. Bring the syrup to a boil again and fill it into sterilized glass bottles (I sterilized them by putting the cleaned bottles into the 100°C fan oven for about 30mins). You should get about 0,5-1 liters of syrup.

Cheers! *

PS: I promise I’ll post something baked on the weekend :)

One thought on “First Kiss

  1. Well, this is something I can actually make for once. We even have mint in the garden. Welcome spring, I say.^^
    Mucho thanks :*

Leave a Reply

